⛳️ What to do when you're hitting it good!

More like, what NOT to do!

It’s Thursday and that means you’ve got 3 things coming,

⛳️ One Golf Tip: Avoid this pitfall!
🧠 One Stat around Lower scores
🔥 Something extra

We’re next up on the tee, let’s go!

ONE TIP
Don’t be afraid to take a look at your swing!


I had a golf lesson not too long ago with a player I've been working with for a few months. They've got a setup at home and have been practicing their golf swing. Now, I hadn't seen them for a few weeks, even though I asked a couple of times for some swing videos. Quick note: I always tell my players to send me videos as much as possible. More videos mean more chances for me to help, right?

I dive into this topic deeper in the video below, check it out!

So, this player shows up for our lesson, and I'm asking how things are going. They're all like, "Oh, things are going really good. Hitting it super solid right now." Fantastic, right? But as soon as they start hitting shots, it's clear things aren't going that well. The balls are going way right, not the contact they wanted, and a bit of moaning and groaning.

So, I ask, "Why didn't you send me videos over the last couple of weeks when I asked for them?" And here comes the wild part - they say, and I quote, "Well, I was hitting it really good, so I didn't think I had to send any videos because I thought I had it."

I pause for a second and throw back a bit sarcastically, "Do you have it right now?" And they go, "No, I don't." So, I hit them with, "Well, how do you know what you had when you were hitting it good?"

They look puzzled, no answer. But they get where I'm going with this. And this got me thinking, and I want to talk about it today because I bet a lot of golfers have this mindset. When they're hitting it well, they think they've got it and don't want to mess with anything.

Here's the thing I tell my players and what I want to share with you today: when you're hitting it really, really well, you should be taking more videos, observing more, and making notes. If you believe you're doing everything right and hitting the golf ball exactly the way you want, I want to know everything about that environment. If you're hitting it perfectly, those golf swings should be recorded, printed out, framed - somewhere. I'd much rather you have a reference point of what it looks like when you're doing it really well instead of when you're just hitting it poorly.

So, here's how I break it down: if you're working on your golf swing, we need feedback. Coaches know that, and I wish more players did. First, get over the idea that setting up your tripod is a hassle. Develop a system where you can record your golf swings during practice sessions, no matter what. You have a smartphone with loads of storage, right? Clear some space, run a video for a few minutes, and if you hit a good shot, stop.

The bottom line is, when you're hitting it exceptionally well, take more videos than usual. Capture those moments, create a library, and use them as a reference for ongoing improvement. Don't wait until things go wrong to seek feedback. Embrace the opportunity to understand what's working, and you'll set yourself up for more consistent success.

🎙️ Have you checked out my Podcast? Find it here

ONE STAT
On Shooting Lower Scores!

“Shooting lower scores is less about making birdies for many golfers. It’s more about making less doubles!”

Something for all golfers to consider, where do your doubles come from? Poor tee shorts? too many chips? too many putts?

THIS WEEK’S SOMETHING EXTRA
Last minute Christmas Gift Idea

The pressure is on! Are you still looking for a gift idea? This is the book I have gifted the most to my students! It’s on Amazon, and it’s less than $20. Check it out here!

How did you like today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.