⛳️ Unlock Better Golf Swings with Two Simple Questions

Golf Never Sleeps #010

It’s Thursday and that means you’ve got 3 things coming,

⛳️ One Golf Tip - The 2 questions I always ask
🧠 One Stat - Putting you won’t believe
🔥 Something extra - Before you buy used golf balls

We’re next up on the tee, let’s go!

Did you know at the bottom of each newsletter I send, you can rate that week’s email? Last week I received this comment:

“I look forward to Thursday’s tips. They make sense and are adaptable”

This reader took a few seconds and it made my day! I appreciate the feedback both positive and negative. I am here to help you play better golf!

ONE TIP
The two questions I ask every person I give lessons to!

Today, I want to keep it simple by discussing something I've asked every student I've ever given a lesson to. Often, when I teach a lesson, this is my starting point. No, I'm not saying it's something I do every single time, but when I see a player struggling or when I'm considering making a change, this is where I usually begin. It boils down to two questions that I ask, and I'm going to break them down:

  1. Is there more weight on your heels or toes?

  2. Is there more weight on your left foot or right foot?

1. Is there more weight on your heels or toes?
I always begin with this question, and when I do, I often receive a pause from the player because they typically aren't sure. However, if you're setting up with weight on your toes or your heels without being aware of it, you can significantly impact the way you swing the golf club, either positively or negatively, right from the start. Your setup can influence various aspects, including the takeaway of your golf club, your ability to utilize the ground efficiently, and the predetermined motion of your body in the backswing and downswing based on your foot positioning.

I consistently emphasize starting from a neutral position. By that, I mean I want you to have the weight in the balls of your feet.

To help golfers determine where their weight is in their feet, I frequently employ a straightforward drill called "Find the Middle." This drill involves experiencing both extremes, which I find provides many players with a clear understanding of where their weight should be. You can find a quick rundown of this drill through the following link: Click here for the drill

2. Is there more weight on your left foot or right foot?
The second question is, do you have more weight on your left foot or your right foot? This question tends to have more variability from one player to another, and it depends on factors like club path, body mobility, and the specific golf shot they're trying to execute. However, it's quite rare for me to recommend a player to have more weight on their trail leg at setup, especially when it comes to irons.

Given the variation among players, there isn't a one-size-fits-all answer regarding weight distribution between the left and right foot. What's crucial is that players are aware of where their weight is located. For instance, I often observe golfers with weight on their back foot at the iron shot setup. This can be problematic when we're aiming for golf ball-first contact on the downswing. This issue often arises from a lack of awareness or uncertainty about the ideal weight distribution and how it influences their golf swing.

So how should you use this information?
Now, you're probably wondering, "This is great, Ryan, but how do I use this?" Let me provide some context by explaining how I typically use these questions. It's something I usually ask right at the beginning of a session, whether a player is having a good ball-striking day or struggling. I categorize this as one of the fundamental checks you should perform at the start of a practice session or round of golf. I firmly believe that these two questions can significantly impact where your golf ball ends up, and I'd rate them as equally important as checking your grip, alignment, or posture.

🎙️ Have you checked out my Podcast? Find it here
Episode 17 is part 2 of my interview with Tyler Ray. We go deep into coaching and performance. This is a must-listen for all golfers!

ONE STAT
How many putts did he make?

Matt Fitzpatrick had 875 putts from inside 5 feet this year, how many did he make?
a) 873
b) 862
c) 851
d) 840

Scroll down to the end of the email to find out!

THIS WEEK’S SOMETHING EXTRA
Consider this before you buy “used” golf balls

I've noticed this picture making the rounds on the internet from time to time, and I thought I'd share it today. Recently, I had a conversation with one of my students who mentioned buying used golf balls, which prompted me to bring up this topic.

I would strongly advise being cautious when purchasing refurbished golf balls, regardless of their source. Often, these balls are retrieved from water hazards or other areas and repainted. In some cases, they might not even be the type of ball they claim to be.

Honestly, I believe that many people would be better off buying lower-quality brand-new balls than what they believe to be higher-quality used golf balls. Just some food for thought!

You can read some research on used golf balls conducted by GolfWRX by clicking here.

How did you like today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

He made how many putts? The answer!

He made 862. He went 862/875 from inside 5 feet this year. That is incredibly good!!!