⛳️Make better contact with this drill + Club Championship Thoughts

Golf Never Sleeps #004

It’s Thursday and that means you’ve got 3 things coming,

⛳️ One Golf Tip 🧠 One Quote Stat + 🔥 Something extra

We’re next up on the tee, let’s go!

Interested in hearing (or watching) more of me? Check out the Golf Never Sleeps Podcast!

🍎 Listen on Apple Podcast here 

🎥 Watch on YouTube here

🎵Listen on Spotify here

One Tip, Let’s start making better contact with your irons!

One of the most common questions I get from golfers is to make better contact! This week I am going to break down how we can do that, what we can do to check if we are doing it, and what I do when I’m struggling with making good contact.

Click here, if you want to watch me break this down on video.

  • It has to be Golf Ball first!

    This is a pretty straightforward one, but some people mess this up….. you have to hit the golf ball first and make a divot afterwards. Keep in mind we are talking full swing with irons, this can change when we get into short game shots around the green and in the bunker.

  • What a good impact position looks like.

    Talking specifically about downswing here, getting to impact in a position where our grip and body are more forward (let’s say towards the target) than it was at the start. The proper downswing sequence is the lower body starting to move. I mention specifically downswing because a fault golfers can make is getting a lot of weight forward in the backswing which can cause them to want to hang back in the downswing

  • Do you know where you make contact with the ground?

    Checking is very easy, all you need is a golf tee! Place the tee at the back of the golf ball and after you hit your shot you will be able to see where your divot started. Knowing where your divot starts (and be picky) is very important!

  • What do I do when I’m struggling?

    When I get to the range for a practice session or before a round of golf, I always like to make some shorter punch-out shot-type swings to feel good contact. The shorter swing and focus on moving my body in the downswing is a feel I really like to have right at the start of my time at the range.

I have tee set up where the back of the golf ball was to be able to see very clearly where my divot started (phewww I hit a good one!)

So let’s summarize:

1) It has to be golf ball first!

2) A good impact position should have the grip ahead of the ball and the body more towards the target than it was at set-up. The lower body starts this movement

3) Use a tee to know where your divot starts!

4) I start every practice session by hitting some punch-out type shots to feel hitting the golf ball first and making solid contact.

One Quote, about how to treat competitive rounds

“If you treat competitive rounds differently, that will add pressure and expectations. The goal should be to treat every round the same. The same routine, the same process, the same warmup etc. The way you play is more a summary of your preparation than what you decide to do differently on that day. If you have to treat competitive rounds so differently, maybe you need to look at how you treat your normal rounds with your friends. The Golf Ball doesn’t know if it’s a tournament round”

I had a player send me a text “Hey, I have my club championship on Saturday. Any tips for playing a tournament.” I didn’t send him this exact message but these are my thoughts after pondering it a little longer.

This week's something extra……

Do you warm up your body before a round of golf? Many of you don’t! Here is my 5-minute warm-up. This is something you could do every day even if you arent playing to feel and move a little better.

How did you like today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.